Date of Defense


Date of Graduation




First Advisor

Igor Fedotov

Second Advisor

Bruce Uchimura

Third Advisor

Annette Montgomery


The purpose of this thesis was to further my skills and abilities as a violist and improve overall musicianship. It is my belief that better, more experienced musicians make better teachers. Not only have I gained an understanding of what performing a recital requires as far as technical and musical abilities, but I have experienced that recitals require confidence, stage presence, and the ability to take nervous energy and transform it into creative energy. Through learning these pieces I have gained a deeper understanding of how to play in different styles that correspond to the time period of the music. The program consisted of Cello Suite No. 2 in D Minor by J.S. Bach, Allegro by Joseph H. Fiocco, Viola Concerto in D Major, movement I, Allegro by Franz Anton Hoffmeister, Viola Sonata in D Minor by Mikhail Glinka, movement 1; Allegro moderato and movement 2; Larghetto, ma non troppo, Romanze for Viola and Orchestra Opus 85 by Max Bruch and Concerto by Julius Conus. Cello Suite No. 2 is a piece from the Baroque era and requires a unique style with heavy ornamentation. Allegro and Viola Concerto in D Major are both from the Classical period and are played with a lighter style. The Viola Sonata in D Minor and Romanze for Viola and Orchestra Opus 85 are both from the Romantic period where there is more elasticity in music and performers can feel free to take liberties with the tempo and phrasing, adding their voice to that of the composer. The final piece, Concerto, is from the late Romantic/early Modern music, it still has some of the same characters of the Romantic music but with a more modern sense of tonality. Learning this program helped me understand how to play in these different musical styles so that I may pass that knowledge on to my future students.

Access Setting

Honors Thesis-Restricted