Date of Defense


Date of Graduation




First Advisor

David Lisker

Second Advisor

Bruce Uchimura


The program for Lexi’s Senior Recital includes works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and Felix Mendelssohn. The program is 52 minutes in length and showcases a variety of classical music from different eras. The first works performed on the program were the first and fourth movement from J.S. Bach’s Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Minor. The first movement, Adagio, is in a slow four and has an improvisatory style to it. Though Bach wrote out all of the ornamentations and rhythms in this piece, there is a natural flow of the piece that makes it seem as though the performer is coming up with the melodies on the spot. The fourth movement has a similar feel, though, it is perpetually moving forward in much quicker tempo from section to section. The second piece that is performed on the program is Mozart’s Duo for Violin and Viola in G Major. Sava Velkoff joins Lexi for this performance. This piece consists of three movements: Allegro, Adagio, and Rondo: Allegro. The first movement is a conversation between the violin and viola, with the exchange between melodies in the two voices, and the passing of sixteenth notes during the development section of the first movement. The second movement follows this trend, but with a much sweeter and more relaxed tone. Finally, the third movement is an elegant celebration, that is riddled with development sections that question the finale; is this really the end or is there something else we can unpack here? Alas, it comes to a close with an energetic passing of triplets and a final resolution. The final work on the program is Violin Concerto in E Minor which was composed by Felix Mendelssohn. This work stands out in the sea of violin repertoire as it is the first violin concerto that does not have an tutti orchestra exposition. The soloist begins the exposition after a brief introduction from the orchestra with a short rest before the development section of the first movement. The second movement is a sweet, but chilling Andante with a melody that always feels as though it is longing for more, and a development section that consists of double stops that increase in intensity. Finally, the third movement of the concerto is a final push for a triumphant finale, sprinkled with exciting melodies for the soloist and sixteenth note passages that accompany tutti sections. The ending of the piece features a micro-cadenza with a final climb to the top before the resolution.

Access Setting

Honors Thesis-Restricted

Lexi's Senior Recital.mp4 (315245 kB)
Senior Recital