Date of Defense



Comparative Religion

First Advisor

Dr. Thomas Holmes

Second Advisor

Dr. Frederick MacDonald


When explaining the nature of love, there are several components which shall be presented: The four immeasurable minds, understanding and love, love and commitment, clarity of mind, the essence of true love, and the practice of love. The four immeasurable minds refer to the four aspects of true love within everyone, everything, and ourselves. According to Buddhist teaching (Nhat Hanh, 1998), the four aspects of true love are love, compassion, joy, and equanimity. The next aspect of true love is understanding and love. According to the way of enlightenment, love cannot exist without understanding. Love and commitment are the foundation of a true marriage. This is built when a man and a woman think more of the partnership than they do of themselves. The concept of clarity of mind explains that one must look deeply in order to see and understand the needs of others. In the essence of true love, it is important to learn the art of mindful living before entering any new relationship. True love includes the sense of responsibility, accepting the other person as she/he is with all her/his strengths and weaknesses. The practice of love is a way to help us become more present and real within ourselves. In the practice of love, other persons also become more real, and life is real in that moment. Through the practice of love, we bring happiness to ourselves and to other people.

Access Setting

Honors Thesis-Campus Only