Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

Dr. Ramon Zupko

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


ORIGINS A SYMPHONY FOR ORCHESTRA is a three movement work composed entirely with an arbitrarily derived system of harmony and melody. AH three movements are based upon ten sovereign groupings of notes, each group displaying its own specific charactor of harmonic/melodic tension and release.

It is this harmonic structure, plus an Idee’ Fixe based on one of the groupings that binds the three movements together.

ORIGINS was written according to conventional symphonic outlines, but is strictly intended for an ensemble of high technical prowess. While it is a highly complex work, it is still designed to be relatively accessable to a wide audience.

Included in

Music Commons