Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


The purpose of this concerto is to add substantial literature to the limited repertoire written for euphonium. Each of the three movements explores a different medium of music. The first movement is strictly developmental material based on a five-note motive taken from the end of an ascending melodic minor scale. The second movement uses an unusual five-voice passacaglia. The last movement is a cadenza shared by both the solo euphonium and the string orchestra with both parts having equal importance. Characteristic of all three movements is the blending of the voice ranges and the use of complex rhythms.

Included in

Composition Commons