Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

Dr. Ramon Zupko

Second Advisor

Dr. C. Curtis Smith

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


Sonic Sculptures is a musical work for flute, cello and computer processed sounds. The processed sounds are different samples taken from the following sources: piano, flute, and cello. The samples consist primarily of special effects created by the three instruments. A description of the processed sounds can be found in the explanation of sounds. All together there is a total of 52 digital samples; 22 samples are taken from the inside of a grand piano, 18 are created by a cello and 12 by the flute.

There are three pieces in Sonic Sculptures. The first consists of a jaunty melodic line presented by the instruments which is supported by long sustaining electronic sounds. In the second piece the electronic sounds present the melodic ideas while the instruments imitate and add color for support. The last piece is a duet between the flute and cello. The two instruments act as a type of mobile structure to which splashes of color are added by the electronic sounds.

Included in

Music Commons