Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

Dr. Robert Ricci

Second Advisor

Dr. Richard Adams

Third Advisor

Dr. Stanley C. Pelkey II

Fourth Advisor

Dr. Michael Miller

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


My thesis is a chamber symphony in three movements. The instrumentation is as follows: one flute, one oboe, one clarinet, one bassoon, one horn, one timpani (movements one and three), one bongos(movements two and three), one triangle (movement two), one marimba(movement one), one vibraphone(movement two), one piano, one violin I, one violin II, one viola, one cello, and one string bass. The first movement also contains a soprano solo that is cued by other instruments if a soloist is unavailable.

The first movement is in Dorian and Aeolian modes. The second movement features a whole tone scale and a middle section of aleatoric music. The third movement places pentatonic harmony against a classically harmonized melody to create polytonality and also contains a fugue that utilizes quartal and quintal harmonies. The entire symphony draws upon both classical and minimalist ideas and was inspired by the music of videogames, Japanese animation and film scores.

Included in

Composition Commons