Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

C. Curtis-Smith

Second Advisor

Judy Moonert

Third Advisor

Dr. Richard Adams

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


The Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra is a three-movement work in the traditional concerto form. The first movement is roughly Sonata-form, the second movement is in essence a set of variations on two mutually derivative melodies over an almost constant rhythmic motive of five eighth-notes, and the third movement is a short through-composed finale based on a quirky, angular melody. The tonal scheme of the concerto is fairly traditional, in that the outer two movements focus on an 'A' tonal center, while the slower middle movement is based on an 'E' tonality. Quintal, extended and added-tone tertian, and mixed cluster-based harmonies are the primary harmonic material of the

work. Various eight-tone scales appear prominently in all three movements. The work scored for a Classical-sized orchestra, with the addition of timpani, two percussionists, and marimba soloist. ;.

Included in

Composition Commons