Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

C. Curtis-Smith

Second Advisor

Dr. Richard Adams

Third Advisor

Dr. Robert Ricci

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


As the Ruin Falls is a two-movement work scored for full orchestra, augmented with bass clarinet, piano, and three percussionists. Though the title comes from a poem written by C.S. Lewis, it is in no way is a programmatic representation of the poem's content. Furthermore, the programmatic "scenes" in the second movement do not relate to the poem. The title was selected only to signify the work's rather ominous character.

The primary musical building block for the entire work is a four-note chord whose construction is symmetrical - two minor thirds separated by a perfect fourth: C-Eb-Ab-Cb (or B). The outer two notes span the interval of a major seventh. As a result, the two most important intervals are the minor third and the major seventh.

Included in

Composition Commons