Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

Dr. Richard Adams

Access Setting

Masters Thesis-Open Access


The piece contained in the following pages is a musical composition written for a standard concert band. The piece is divided into three movements, with a duration of approximately fifteen minutes. The title of the work is derived from the three different seasonal changes. The first movement depicts the summer season changing into autumn. In the second movement, one finds the music of autumn transforming into winter. Lastly, in the third movement one hears a musical depiction of winter finally giving away to spring.

This musical work makes use of modal harmonies, chromatic scale patterns and lyrical melodies. There are also elements of jazz harmonies, along with the use of extended chord progressions. The ensemble consists of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 3 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, a euphonium, a tuba and a percussion section. The first and third movements make use of timpani and chimes, and the second movement includes a marimba. The concert band works of Samuel Barber, Aaron Copland, Gustav Holst, Ralph Vaughan-Williams and Percy Grainger served as inspiration during the initial construction of the piece.

Included in

Composition Commons